Australian Museum Eureka Prizes

Healing wounds with glue, commercialised night vision and discovering new wildlife species through mobile apps are among research discoveries awarded at the 2018 Australian Museum Eureka Prizes.

The winners of sixteen prestigious science prizes were announced at Sydney Town Hall on Wednesday 29 August, recognising some of Australia’s best minds in science.

There were 47 finalists competing for awards across categories including Innovative Use of Technology, Mentoring of Young Researchers and Leadership. Primary and secondary students were also recognised in the Sleeks Geeks prizes.

  • Professor Nalini Joshi AO from the School of Mathematics at the University of Sydney was awarded the prize for Outstanding Mentor of Young Researchers.
  • Associate Professor Elizabeth New from the School of Chemistry at the University of Sydney  won the prize for Emerging Leader in Science.
  • Associate Professor Alan Duffy won the prize for Promoting Understanding of Science.
  • Professor Rebecca Johnson from the Australian Museum was the recipient of the yearly Australian Museum Research Institute Medal for her work in wildlife genomics.
  • Professor Tony Weiss from the University of Sydney won the prize for Innovation in Medical Research for his development and commercialisation of fast-acting surgical glue, MeTro and innovation in synthetic biomaterials.
  • Professor Thomas Maschmeyer won the prize for Leadership in Innovation & Science.
  • Dr Rahmani received the prize for Outstanding Early Career Researcher.
  • The QuestaGame is app won the Innovation in Citizen Science prize.
  • Researchers from the University of Queensland’s Optical Physics in Neuroscience team won the prize for Excellence in Interdisciplinary Scientific Research.

Check out the full list of winners to learn more about their achievements. Image of Professor Alan Duffy by Salty Dingo courtesy of Australian Museum.